Congratulations to Our High School Art Invitational Winning Classrooms!

In March every year since 1994, Pima County Public Library exhibits artwork from local youth artists at the Joel Valdez Main Library. The High School Art Invitational is online only this year, and this year 24 art and photography teachers responded to our call and submitted 96 images of student work.

Here’s the link to the Flickr album with the full display.

While the event is more about highlighting the creativity, talent and effort of local youth, a prize to the winning teacher’s set of classrooms was awarded. A jury of artists, librarians and arts professionals looked at the art and the winning classrooms will get a delivery of fresh baked cookies for the students and $300 worth of art supplies for the teacher.

Winning Classrooms

The winning classrooms this year are from Marana High School, taught by Elizabeth Denneau. The jury applauds the work she’s done to get the students where they are artistically and admires the range of themes, originality and creativity in the work and the diversity of formats she teaches. You can see five of her students’ artwork below, along with a number of honorable mentions from the complete set of entries. Supporting youth arts means a lot to us here at the library and we recognize the creativity and effort of all who participated.  

Here are the winners' pieces

Click on an image to see it larger.

[alpine-phototile-for-flickr src="set" uid="126510258@N06" sid="72157718589200687" imgl="fancybox" style="floor" row="5" grwidth="600" grheight="400" size="500" num="24" align="center" max="80" nocredit="1"]

View Honorable Mentions

We’d like to thank the following teachers who took the time to participate:

  • Mr. William Lewis at Immaculate Heart High School
  • Ms. Lisa Sekulich at Flowing Wells High School
  • Mr. Mike Srsen at Pima JTED
  • Ms. Lisa Sekulich at Flowing Wells High School
  • Mrs. Danielle Rutherford at Sahuarita High School
  • Ms. Elizabeth Denneau at Marana High School
  • Ms. Amy Wood at Sky Island High School
  • Ms. Jessica Melrose at City High School
  • Ms. Elizabeth McCowin at Waldon Grove High School
  • Mrs. Cristina Lieberman at Marana High School
  • Ms. Alison Murray at Salpointe Catholic High School
  • Ms. Traci Kelly at Desert View High School
  • Mrs. Deborah Hargadon at Sonoran Science Academy
  • Ms. Ruth Latona at Cienega High School
  • Ms. Jill Menaugh at Ironwood Ridge High School
  • Mrs. Kala Phelps at Tanque Verde High School
  • Mr. Curtis Dutiel at Desert View High School
  • Ms. Carrie Vonier at BASIS Tucson North
  • Mrs. Zoe Reinhardt at Catalina Foothills High School
  • Ms. Betina Fink at Salpointe Catholic High School
  • Mr. William Wiggins at Cholla High School
  • Mr. Josh Nistas at Flowing Wells High School
  • Porter McDonald at BASIS Tucson North
  • Ms. Michelle Haden at Sunnyside High School