For the serious book geek or if you just love magic and mayhem

The coolest thing about author James A. Owen: he started self-publishing, selling, and promoting his own comics when he was a teenager. The second coolest thing about him: he's a total book geek, something you'll discover when you read this series, which is sort of like "Lord of the Rings" for the book geek.

The Chronicles revolve around the Imaginarium Geographica, an atlas of imagined lands, and the caretakers who keep the atlas safe. Jack, John, and Charles are brought together by the murder of one of the previous caretakers, which is exactly when they find out that they themselves are the new caretakers. Here's the series in order to date:

Here, There Be Dragons

The Search for the Red Dragon

The Indigo King

The Shadow Dragons

The Dragon's Apprentice

The Dragons of Winter

The First Dragon

It’s a harder job than it seems with the Winter King trying to take over both the mythical and real worlds. They spend the series trying to defeat him and restore peace to the mythical lands and WWI-era Europe. The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica is populated by great authors, including J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Edgar Allen Poe, as well as famous book characters like King Arthur and Peter Pan's Lost Boys.

If you're a serious book geek, this series will make you squee. A lot. If you aren't a book geek, never fear: there's plenty of magic and mayhem to keep you entertained throughout the books. And there are dragons. Also, talking badgers. It's a perfect series for those who loved the Harry Potter series.