Capitals of the Arizona Territory

From the Librarian Files

Did you know Tucson was once the capital of the Arizona Territory?

In 1863, the U.S. Congress made Arizona a U.S. territory and Arizona became a state on February 14, 1912. Between those two dates the capital of the territory moved a few times.

·         The first capital in 1863 was Fort Whipple in Chino Valley, Arizona.

·         May 1864 the territorial capital was moved to Prescott.

·         1867, the territorial capital was moved to Tucson for ten years,

·         1877, the capital moved back to Prescott.

·         Finally, Phoenix was declared the permanent capital starting on February 4, 1889.


Arizona blue book 2003-2004 edition. Jan Brewer, Secretary of State. Publisher [Phoenix, Ariz.]. Pages 12-13.

Cosulich, Bernice, Tucson; with map of landmarks, references, glossary, chronology [and] bibliography. Tucson, Arizona Silhouettes [1953]. Pages 175-191.

Sonnichsen, C.L. Tucson, the life and times of an American City. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press. c1982. Pages 56-58, 65-66, 68-69.

More Librarian Files.