Info Center
Homework Help
Info Guides
Homework
Schools & Learning
Money Matters
Research & Resources
Info Guides - Study Aids & Databases
Check out the following databases and web sites that contain valuable information for homework, school reports, projects and all your study needs.
On this page:
- Education & Learning Databases
- Internet Link by Subject
Education & Learning Databases
Databases
Get your library card and discover information not available anywhere else on the web.
- EbscoHost
- Most comprehensive. Covers almost 3000 magazines, journals and reference books over a broad range of topics. Includes biographies, images and primary source documents, many in full-text.
- InfoTrac OneFile
- More than 6,000 full-text magazine titles and five newspaper indexes, with coverage from 1980 to present.
- America the Beautiful
- State-by-state history & current events database
- AP Multimedia Archives
- Contains over 700,000 photos from Associated Press, plus graphics and sound bytes.
- Biography Resource Center
- Information on nearly 275,000 people from throughout history, around the globe, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- CultureGrams
- Cultural data on 187 countries around the world, including customs and courtesies, gestures, visiting, diet, dating and marriage. Also includes country maps and statistical information.
- Encyclopedia Americana
- in-depth encyclopedia for adults & older students
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Contains the following online encyclopedias and reference books:
- Alternative Energy
- American Decades
- Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
- Encyclopedia Judaica
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture & History
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
- Encyclopedia of Disability
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior
- Encylopedia of Education
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- Encyclopedia of the American Revolution
- Endangered Species
- Extremist Groups
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
- Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Mexican States
- Landmarks of the American Revolution
- Mathematics
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
- Plant Sciences
- Pollution A to Z
- Witchcraft in America
- World of Forensic Science
- World Religions Reference Library
- World War II Reference Library
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
- Quick reference with rich media for middle school & higher
- Lands & Peoples
- Encyclopedia of countries, cultures & current events
- LearningExpressLibrary
- Practice tests for SAT, GED, & more, plus elementary, middle, and high school skills development. Get your tests scored instantly and learn the correct answers.
- Literature Resource Center
- Find information on literary figures from all time periods.
- New Book of Knowledge
- Reference & current events for elementary school students
- New Book of Popular Science
- Science & technology resource
- Newsbank
- Full-text of over 500 newspapers. Includes Arizona Daily Star, Tucson Citizen, & Arizona Republic
- Opposing Viewpoints
- Provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics and more, on a wide range of social issues.
- Science Online
- Offers science experiments, diagrams, essays, definitions and biographies arranged in an easy to search format.
- Science Resource Center
- An in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms.
- SIRS (Social Issues Resources Service)
- Offers full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
- SIRS Researcher – General reference, social issues, health, & science
- SRIS Discoverer – Reference database designed for young researchers
- SIRS Renaissance – Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities
- SIRS Government Reporter – Directories, almanacs & historic documents
- SIRS Web Select – Selected websites on a broad range of issues
- Teen Health & Wellness
- Both a research/report tool and self-help resource, this comprehensive database allows teens to explore health-related issues important to their well-being.
Internet Links by Subject
All School Subjects
- BJ Pinchbeck's Homework Helper
- Factmonster Homework Center
- Grammar and Writing Guides
- Homework Resources
- Infoplease Homework Center
- Internet Public Library for Kids
- Kids Click
- Multnomah County Library Homework Center
- My Homework Helper
- National Geographic Homework Help
- Scholastic's Homework Hub
- Teen Space: Internet Public Library
Math, Science & Science Projects
- Amazing Space
- Animal Diversity Web
- Ask a Scientist
- Bill Nye the Science Guy
- Cyber-Fair
- Dragonfly TV: Science Experiment Ideas
- ENature Field Guides
- Experiments & Science Fair Projects
- Exploratorium Museum
- Kids Planet
- Kinetic City
- Math Forum Student Center
- Math Resources by Subject
- PBS Kids: EekoWorld
- Purplemath
- Science Buddies
- Science Fair Central
- Science News for Kids
- Space Place
- Try Science
- Views of the Solar System
- Virtual Frog
People, Places & History
- African-American Mosaic
- America's Library
- Atlapedia Online
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
- Chetro Ketl Great Kiva
- CIA World Factbook
- Country Facts and History
- Explorers
- The Fifty States
- First Ladies of the United States of America
- Gallery of Achievers
- Portals to the World
- Presidents of the United States
- Social Issues
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
