Inside this Info Center:
- Grants & Nonprofit Info Center
- About the Grants & Nonprofit Info Center
- Grantseeking Basics: Free Library Workshop
- Local Training & Educational Opportunities
- Guide to Using the Grants & Nonprofit Info Center
Grants Databases
Info Guides
Grants Research
- Getting Started
- How to Find Out About Funding
- The Fit-Funding Match
- Local Funders
- Types of Funders
- Grantmaking Public Charities
- Government Grants
- Corporate Philanthropy
- Approaching a Small Foundation
- Grantmaker Types of Support
- Requests for Proposals (RFP)
- Financial Aid & Scholarships
- Grants to Individuals
Grant Proposals
Nonprofit Resources
- Starting a Nonprofit
- Boards & Management
- Consultants
- Fundraising
- Program Evaluation & Outcome Measurement
- Finding a Nonprofit
- 990 Forms
- Giving to Charities
- Professional Associations
- Jobs in the Nonprofit Sector
- Starting a Foundation
The Grants Collection is a Cooperating Collection of the Foundation Center.
Research & Resources
Info Guides - Nonprofit Professional Associations
On this page:
Local Associations
- Alliance of Arizona Nonprofits
A unifying association formed in 2004 to advance the common interests of more than 20,000 nonprofits in the Grand Canyon State. The Alliance is an action-oriented group of partners across the state-both nonprofits and those in the community who support them-dedicated to furthering the common interests of Arizona's nonprofits. The Alliance does this by serving, supporting, protecting, and promoting the nonprofit sector.
- Arizona Grantmakers Forum
Regional association that provides educational resources, research and networking opportunities for grantmakers in Arizona.
- Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Southern Arizona Chapter
An individual member association that advances philanthropy through education, training and advocacy. This is an excellent opportunity to learn about fundraising and development for nonprofit organizations and to network with development professionals.
Monthly meetings are usually held the second Friday of the month and are open to non-members, include an educational topic, and facilitate networking. Pre-registration is required. AFP membership is not required to attend these educational breakfast meetings. Meetings are held at the DoubleTree Hotel Reid Park, 445 N. Alvernon Way, Tucson. $15.00 for members and $25.00 for non-members includes buffet breakfast. Contact: Gerry Oldenski, Chapter Administrator, admin@afpsoaz.org or (520) 748-2830.
- Center for Planned Giving
Impartial philanthropic resource for not-for-profit organizations, professional advisors and donors. The Center is dedicated to increasing the planned and major gifts made to charitable organizations in the community.
Online assistance through GiftPlanSoAZ.org, the Planned Giving Design Center, which includes descriptions of planned giving vehicles, tax and legislative alerts, IRS forms, rates and tables and a digest of articles by national experts.
- Community Development Network of Southern Arizona
Purpose Statement: Create positive fundamental change in Southern Arizona through asset-based community development. Guiding Principles: Everyone builds community by sharing assets, knowledge and skills.
For information contact Erin Markley, United Way, 330 N. Commerce Park Loop, Suite 200, Tucson, AZ 85754-6750, phone: (520) 903 9000 ext. 305.
- Community Shares of Southern Arizona
A coalition of non-profit organizations that serve Southern Arizona and that work at the heart of our community to enhance the quality of life for all our citizens. Community Shares conducts a workplace payroll deduction program to raise funds for its member organizations, offering employees a wide range of new choices for charitable giving. Community Shares allows Southern Arizonans to direct their donations to programs that meet local needs and match their personal values.
- Leave A Legacy Arizona
An effort to raise awareness of planned charitable gifts and bequest opportunities that will benefit individuals, families, and their communities. Monthly sessions are generally held at 4:00 p.m.at the Community Foundation for Southern Arizona, 2250 E. Broadway. Fee is $15; free for members of Leave a Legacy. For information contact Pamela Doherty, Center for Planned Giving at the Community Foundation for Southern Arizona, 545-1117 or pdhoerty@cfsoaz.org
- Non-Profit Organizations-Financial Administrators Network (NPO-FAN)
Created in 1995 to unite the leaders and accounting personnel of nonprofit groups in Tucson. This group, which meets quarterly, provides a forum where various speakers, media and topics are used to educate and inform nonprofit groups about ways to improve their organizations, to meet the changing demands of the community and to address new rules and regulations. Location: Pima County Medical Society, 5199 E. Farness (south of Grant Road.), Tucson. Contact Marie DeVries at Girvin, DeVries & Associates, P.C. at 298-6200, 4349 E. Fifth St., Tucson, AZ 85711, Tucson, AZ.
- Planned Giving Roundtable of Southern Arizona
A professional association for people whose work includes developing, marketing, and administering charitable planned gifts. Those people include fund raisers for nonprofit institutions and consultants and donor advisors working in a variety of settings. The organization is affiliated with the National Council on Planned Giving (NCPG). The mission of NCPG is to increase the quality and quantity of charitable planned gifts by serving as the voice and professional resource for the gift planning community. Click on Planned Giving Councils to see Arizona information.
- Southern Arizona Volunteer Management Association
- Professional association promoting excellence in volunteer program management, providing education, leadership, resources, networking and support to the volunteer community. Meetings are free and open to all. Usually meets on the third Tuesday of the month, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Casa de los Niños, 1101 N. 4th Avenue, northeast corner of Speedway and 4th Ave. To learn meeting topic, and to confirm date, time, and location, call Mary Harvey at 326-9850.
National Associations
- American Association of Grant Professionals (AAGP)
A nonprofit membership association that builds and supports an international community of grant professionals committed to serving the greater public good by practicing the highest ethical and professional standards. AAGP serves as a leading authority and resource for the practice of grantsmanship in all sectors of the field.
Advances the field by promoting professional growth and development. Enhances the public image and recognition of the profession within the greater philanthropic, public, and private funding communities. Promotes positive relationships between grat professionals and their stakeholders.
Local Chapter Contact - Kelly Holt, Vice President, AAGP-Arizona (Founding Chapter). email: Kelly_anneh@yahoo.com
- National Association of Youth Service Consultants (NAYSC)
Formed in 2003 to improve services for youth, by linking expertise to the agencies and organizations in need of technical assistance and consulting services in all youth service areas. Phone: (888) 201-3228.
