Info Center
Info Guides
Money Matters
- Affordable housing
- Choosing a Career
- Consumer Info
- Currency Exchange
- Debt & credit counseling
- Emergency assistance
- Financial aid for school
- Financial help for artists
- Financial help for individuals
- Financial help for writers
- Giving to Charities
- Home care assistance
- Home repair assistance
- Homelessness
- Housing financial help
- Investing
- Jobs
- Job Preparation
- Jobs in the Nonprofit Sector
- Job Openings at the Library
- Medical bills and home care assistance
- Rent, financial assistance
- Scholarships
- Tax Info
- Utilities, financial assistance
- Wage Surveys
Research & Resources
Investing
Library Resources
Quality resources you can't find anywhere else on the web, free with your library card.
Don't have a card? Search using your zip code.
Business
- Business Source Complete —Comprehensive business coverage includes company profiles, financial data, investment research, industry reports, and more
- Career Information Center (eBook) — Job summaries, descriptions, and up-to-date salary information
- CorpTech (from ReferenceUSA) — Detailed coverage of biotech, computer, environmental, and high-tech companies
- Encyclopedia of Small Business — Articles and overviews of the key information needs of small business users
- Business Plans Handbook — eBook collection of business plans
- ReferenceUSA — Directory of U.S. businesses, U.S. residences
- Regional Business News — Full text for more than 80 regional business publications
News/Quotes
Free, retrospective stock quotes are available by calling Infoline at 791-4010.
The Main Library has Standard & Poor's Daily Stock Price Record and the Wall Street Journal for checking stock prices. Infoline staff will check up to three price quotes per call.
- CNNfn
- Up-to-the-minute financial news and stock quotes from Cable Network News.
- Market Watch
- Valuable news and information from Dow Jones.
- NASD BondInfo
- Use for locating price and market information on corporate bonds.
- Researching Old Stock Certificates
- Internet Public Library has identified some of the best sources for determining the value of old stock certificates.
- Yahoo! Finance
- Provides news, research, charts, and quotes.
- Yahoo Historical Quotes
- Begin by entering a company name or stock symbol in the quote box. Select the "historical prices" link on the left hand side of the company profile. Companies that have had name changes, merged or gone out of business may not be listed.
- Yahoo! Company ticker symbol lookup
- Look up the company ticker symbol to make your research easier.
Direct Investing
- Direct Stock Purchase Plan Clearinghouse
- Request prospectuses from companies that offer direct reinvestment plans.
- Sharebuilder.com
- Information on and links to dividend reinvestment plan companies.
Mutual Funds
- Morningstar
- Provides financial data on over 13,000 mutual funds and 7,000 stocks. Offers a variety of screening, ranking and other resources for investing.
- Mutual Funds Center from Yahoo! Finance
- Top performers and fund profiles.
- Mutual Funds Investor's Center
- Find out about mutual funds, asset allocation, and how to invest wisely for college expenses and retirement .
Help for Investors
- Investor Assistance & Complaints
- From the Securities & Exchange Commission. Provides a variety of services to address the problems and questions you may face as an investor.
- Investor Alerts: Protect Your Money
- Get the facts on how to invest wisely and avoid fraud.
- MyMoney.gov
- Savings and investing, retirement planning, home ownership information and more from the U.S. Financial Literacy and Education Commission.
- NASD Regulation
- Use this site to order disciplinary reports on securities firms or individual brokers from the National Association of Securities Dealers.
- NASAA
- Fact sheets on securities fraud plus links to state regulators, from the North American Securities Administrators Association.
- Securities Class Action Clearinghouse
- Browse complaints and keep track of current litigation.
