Library main navigation:

Research & Resources

Info Guides - Consumer Info

Databases

EbscoHost
Index and abstracts to almost 3000 magazines covering a broad range of topics. Many are available in full-text, dating as far back as 1990. Includes an image database, the American Heritage Dictionary, and full-text articles from Consumer Reports.
ALLDATA (only available in-library)
Comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information for most cars & trucks (foreign & domestic) 1982 and newer. Includes electrical wiring diagrams, factory technical service bulletins, and maintenance schedules and tables.
Computer Database
Includes reviews of computers and electronics from sources such as PC Magazine, Information World, and Computer Shopper.

Return to top

Consumer Web Sites

Consumer Guide
Online version of the magazine known for its Auto Guides and Best Buys
Consumer Line
Full text consumer publications, from the Federal Trade Commission's Office of Consumer and Business Education.
Consumer Reports.Org
Free access to safety alerts, product recalls, a manufacturer locator, and more, but you must pay to view the whole magazine
Consumer World
Over 1700 of the most useful consumer resources on the Internet.
Consumer.gov
One-stop shopping for consumer information from six government agencies
Don't Borrow Trouble
Understand your financial decisions when it comes to homeownership and payday lending practices.
Federal Citizen Information Center
Order pamphlets from the federal government on a wide variety of consumer topics.
NADA Guides
New car pricing and car buying information guide; NADA book values for used cars, trucks, boats, recreation vehicles, ATVs, personal watercraft, classic and special interest cars, motorcycles, snowmobiles, airplanes and manufactured housing. Used boat prices, recreation vehicles, motorcycles, snowmobiles, ATV & personal watercraft, classic collectible and special interest cars.
National Institute for Consumer Education
Primarily a resource for educators, the consumer fact sheets and links are of interest to everyone
Product Review Net
Product reviews from hundreds of online sites and print sources.

Return to top

Complaints/Fraud

Better Business Bureau
Alerts and news; business and charity reports; links to your nearest BBB
Centers for Disease Control Medical Related Hoaxes and Rumors
Check the validity of that rumor you've heard.
MedlinePlus Health Fraud
News of recent health frauds, and general information on recognizing fraud.
National Fraud Information Center
News and views; Internet Fraud Watch, telemarketing tips; report a fraud
OnGuardOnline
Offers tips on protecting personal information online, avoiding scams and identity theft, and using security software when surfing the web.
Quackwatch
A nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, and fallacies.

Return to top

Personal Finance

Local Help

Consumer Credit Counseling Services (CCCS)
520-795-2227
2802 N. Alvernon Way
Tucson, AZ 85712

Web Sites

Debt-Proof Living
A newsletter aimed at getting your spending under control and learning how to live without debt. Formerly Cheapsake Monthly.
The Dollar Stretcher
Weekly financial newsletter written for anyone wishing to embrace the cheapskate life.
Financial Tools and Calculators
Tools that can help you get back on track financially. Includes information on budgeting, borrowing responsibly, and planning to become debt-free.
Hope Now
For those having trouble making mortgage payments.

Return to top