Info Center
Fit For Life
Info Guides
Health & Wellness
- Alternative Health & Medicine
- Doctors, Health Care Facilities & Insurance
- Drug Information
- Flu Resources
- Health Conditions, Disorders & Diseases
- Health Information in Other Languages
- Nutrition
- Tests & Surgery
Local Guides
- Community Referral & Human Service Agencies
- Disability Services
- Elder Care Resources
- Healthy Downtown Eating
En Español
Research & Resources
Health Conditions, Disorders & Diseases
On this page:
Top Web Picks
- MedlinePlus
- A gold mine of up-to-date, quality health care information from the world's largest medical library. MedlinePlus covers health topics A-Z. It's a great place to start.
- Merck Manual
- Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.
Cancer
- American Cancer Society
- General information, screening, and treatment options. Access support through the Cancer Survivors Network.
- Clinical trials
- Current information on clinical research studies in all fields of medicine.
- Families Against Cancer & Toxics
- Local organization dedicated to finding causes of childhood cancers, with the goal of preventing future cases.
- National Cancer Institute
- Up-to-date information with an emphasis on clinical trials and research.
- National Cancer Support Organizations
- Organizations that offer services to people with cancer and their families who need assistance coping with the emotional as well as the practical aspects of their disease.
- Oncolink
- Includes information on the types of cancer, treatment, clinical trials and coping with cancer .
- Oncology Informatics
- Gateway to resources at University of Arizona.
Conditions, Disorders & Diseases
- Arizona Department of Health Services
- Responsible for licensure of nursing homes, hospitals, and child care and assisted living centers, and oversees the state's behavioral health system. Go here for information on birth or death certificates, local health alerts, and community health information.
- AZHealthInfo
- Health information and resources for Arizonans at the local, county, state, and tribal nation level.
- Healthfinder
- Online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the public.
- Mayo Clinic
- Quality health information developed and/or reviewed by Mayo Clinic physicians and researchers.
- MedlinePlus Health Fraud
- News of recent health frauds, and general information on recognizing fraud.
- NOAH (New York Online Access to Health)
- A gateway to high quality health information in both English and Spanish.
- Pima County Health Department
- Promotes and protects the health of the people of Pima County Arizona through: Prevention, intervention, and control of infectious and chronic diseases.
- Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
- Online medical dictionary containing easy-to-understand explanations of over 15,000 medical terms.
Mental Health
- National Institute of Mental Health
- Information about the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of mental illnesses.
- National Mental Health Association
- Fact sheets on mental illnesses from the oldest and largest nonprofit organization addressing all aspects of mental health.
Specific Populations
- American Indian Health
- An information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians.
- Asian American Health
- An information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of Asian Americans in the United States.
- Hispanic Health
- From the Arizona Health Sciences Library and the Arizona Hispanic Center of Excellence.
- KidsHealth
- Provides doctor-approved health information about children from birth through adolescence.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health
- Covers health issues with resources, fact sheets, and articles from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Tribal Connections
- Your American Indian/Alaska Native Community Health & Information Resource Portal on the Internet.
- Women's Health Resources
- From the National Institute of Health. Covers a wide variety of women's health topics.
Statistics
- Arizona Health Statistics from the Arizona Department of Health Services
- Pima County Health Statistics from the Pima County Health Department
- National Health Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control
- Mental Health Statistics from the Center for Mental Health Services
- Cancer Statistics from the American Cancer Society
- Cancer Statistics from the National Cancer Institute
The information provided by the Pima County Public Library is not intended to substitute for medical advice or care from a physician or other health care professional. Please consult with your physician or healthcare provider for clarification about how this information may or may not apply to your unique clinical situation or overall health.
Library Resources
Quality resources you can't find anywhere else on the web, free with your library card.
Don't have a card? Search using your zip code.
Health & Wellnesss
- Alt Health Watch —Perspectives on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness
- Consumer Health Complete — All areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to holistic and integrated medicine
- Health Source Consumer Edition — Consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books
- MedLine Plus — Health information from the National Library of Medicine, available in over 40 languages.
- Salud Para Todos — Base de datos de salud
- Teen Health & Wellness — A research/report tool and self-help resource for health-related issues important to teens
- Multilingual Health Databases — Translated articles about common medical conditions and procedures in 16 languages, including:
