Library main navigation:

Discover your past with our genealogy resources!

Research & Resources

Info Guides - Genealogy

Genealogy Databases

HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest provides historical census information, Revolutionary War documents, full-text family and local histories, and access to PERSI, the Periodical Source Index.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices
A searchable collection of obituaries and death notices from 734 newspapers across the country.
Biography Resource Center
A great resource of biographical information on nearly 275,000 people from throughout history, around the globe, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Return to top

Local Resources

The Family History Center
Family History Centers are branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Centers provide access to most of the microfilms and microfiche in the Family History Library to help patrons identify their ancestors. There are two Family History Centers in Tucson:
  • 500 S. Langley Ave.
    Tucson, AZ
    298-0905
  • 3530 W. Magee
    Tucson, AZ 85741
    579-3493

Return to top

Web Links

The Africana Heritage Project
Our mission is to rediscover precious records that document the names and lives of former slaves, freedpersons and their descendants, and share those records on this free Internet site.
Ancestry.com
Large collection of family history data online. This site has over 240 million names included in more than 1600 databases. Some information is fee-based.
Arizona Genealogy Birth & Death Certificates
This site contains certificates of births occurring between 1887 and 1930 and certificates of deaths occurring between 1887 and 1955 in the State of Arizona.
Arizona State Genealogical Society
Provides a common gathering place for genealogical purposes and assists members in genealogical research. Includes links to local organizations, such as Green Valley Genealogical Society and Sun City Vistoso Genealogical Society.
Cyndi's List
The largest and most comprehensive list of online resources. Over 89,000 sites, categorized and cross-referenced in over 150 categories. A great place to start your genealogy search.
Family Search
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has amassed the largest collection of genealogical material in the world. Visit this site to find and share family history information.
The Genealogy Page
The National Archives and Record Administration maintain this web site. An excellent site to find census, immigration, and military record holdings.
RootsWeb
The Internet's oldest and largest genealogy site. A cooperative that hosts archives, databases and thousands of web sites related to genealogy. A nice feature is the searchable RootsWeb Surname List which has surnames, dates, and locations with contact information for other researchers working on the same family name.
Social Security Death Index
This database contains information provided by the Social Security Administration. It contains over 65,000,000 records of deceased individuals who possessed Social Security cards and whose death had been reported to the S.S.A.
Somos Primos
A news information site dedicated to Hispanic heritage information and issues. Provides links to other Hispanic genealogical research sites.
USGenWeb Project
A large cooperative project organized by volunteers to organize genealogy information by state and county. Each county page has a place where researchers can post a request for information on a geographic area.
Vital Records Information United States
This site contains information about where to obtain vital records (birth, death, marriage & divorce) from each state, territory and county of the United States.

Return to top