Library main navigation:

Research & Resources

Doctors, Health Care Facilities & Insurance

Top Web Picks

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus covers doctors, specialists, hospitals, care facilities, health conditions, lab tests and surgical procedures. It's a great place to start.

Return to top

Medical Providers with a Sliding Scale for the Uninsured

A list of sites in Arizona offering discounted fees for services for those who do not have health insurance. The list is arranged by county, scroll down the page or click on Pima County to find resources in our community.

Doctors & Dentists

American Medical Association's Doctor Finder
DoctorFinder provides you with basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States.
AzDocFinder
Links to doctor finders for each regulatory board.
Arizona Dental Association's Find a Dentist
Find names, addresses, and phone numbers of dentists in your area.
Arizona Medical Board
Includes disciplinary history, educational background and office information.
Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners
Use the directory to find out more about dentists, hygienists, denturists consultants and dental businesses.
American Medical Association's DoctorFinder
Locate a doctor in your area or check the credentials of your physician.
Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors' DocFinder
Look up licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians and health care practitioners around the country.
Doctors and Dentists Directory for Nogales, Sonora, Mexico
Contact information, links to web sites and fields of practice for doctors and dentists in Nogales, Sonora, Mexico.
Quackwatch
A guide to health fraud, false advertising, and intentional deception.

Return to top

Hospitals & Care Facilities

Arizona Department of Health Services Facility Search
Find licensed audiologists, hearing aid dispensers, assisted living facilities, nursing homes, group homes, hspice centers, midwives and more.
Hospital Compare
Information on how well the hospitals in your area care for their adult patients with certain medical conditions. From the United States Department of Health & Human Services.

Return to top

Health Insurance & Medicare

Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCS)
Arizona's Medicaid program and the State of Arizona's health care program for persons who do not qualify for Medicaid.
The Arizona Health Guide: Resources for the Uninsured
The Guide is a resource for Arizona residents who are uninsured or underinsured that helps to connect them to affordable health care resources throughout the state. Available in both English and Spanish.
Benefits Check Up
Connect to government programs that can help pay for prescription drugs, health care, utilities, and other needs. Find out what you need to know before signing up for the new Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage or other prescription savings programs.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Find information on what Medicare covers, who is eligible and how to enroll.
Choosing & Using a Health Plan
Find out how to choose a health care plan and learn the jargon of health care.
Health Insurance Choices
Learn the different types of health insurance types that are available, and find out how to pick the best for you.
Health Insurance Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau
View the most recent reports, briefs, and data on Health Insurance.
Medicare
Go here to look up information about Medicare. Includes information about the Medicare prescription drug benefit (Medicare D).
YouGotInsured.com
Provides health insurance information and promotes universal healthcare. In addition the site shows healthcare stats, headlines and a guide to help you sort through the confusing world of health insurance.

Return to top

Library Resources

Quality resources you can't find anywhere else on the web, free with your library card.

Don't have a card? Search using your zip code.

Health & Wellnesss

Return to top