Info Center
Business Databases
Info Guides
Business & Company Information
Business Startup
- Starting a Business
- Business Research Checklist
- Business Plans
- Business Licenses
- Business Finance
- Minority & Women Business Owners
Business Assistance Agencies
Business Topics
- Consumer Price Index
- Currency Exchange
- Demographics and Statistics
- International Trade & NAFTA
- Patents and Trademarks
- SIC and NAICS
- Tradeshows
Money Matters
Research & Resources
Info Guides - Starting a Business
Find valuable information from the City of Tucson, U.S. Small Business Administration, business research checklist, and more!
On this page:
Getting Started
- Startup Basics
- Provides practical, authoritative guidance for the new entrepreneur. Take the SBA Entrepreneurship Online Course which focuses on the most important areas of business for start-up and already operating businesses to achieve success, including deciding on a business, financing and accounting, buying a business or franchise, and more.
- Arizona Department of Commerce Small Business Services
- Help for starting or expanding a business. Find forms, learn how to incorporate in Arizona, form a limited liability company, and more.
- Guide to Operating a Business in the City of Tucson
- This information explains the various steps, requirements and resources available to those starting and operating a business in Tucson. Read info in the Data Library.
- Small Business and Self Employed One-Stop Resource
- Provides information and a checklist for starting a new business. Learn about operating a business with employees, deductions and credits, recordkeeping and accounting methods.
- Business Research Checklist
- Offers a list of Main Library resources and Internet sites you can use to identify industry associations, trade shows, consumer trends and industry analysis.
Business Plans
Reference Books
More books on how to write a business plan can be located in the library's catalog by doing a subject search for "business planning".
- Small Business Sourcebook
- Use this book to find out where you can find information on small businesses. This directory identifies industry associations, key directories, trade periodicals, tradeshows, franchise opportunities, and other sources of information for over 300 different types of small businesses.
- RMA Annual Statement Studies
- Provides a point of comparison to businesses in the same industry based on income statements and selected financial ratios.
Web Sites
- Business Plan Basics
- This site offers an excellent outline of a business plan. A Spanish version is also available.
- Business Plan Links
- From the Small Business Development Center's National Information Clearinghouse. Includes a variety of links providing sample business plans and templates.
- Business Plans Handbook
- An 11-volume ebook collection of actual business plans for the manufacturing, service, and retail industries.
Business to Business Supply Chain
- AZBusinessLINC
- Southern Arizona's Supplier Network. Promotes business-to-business transactions by making it easy for buyers to locate local suppliers. For assistance in developing buyer-seller relationships with Tucson and Southern Arizona businesses contact AzBusinessLINC at 243-1900.
Franchising
- SBA Buying a Franchise
- Step by step guide will help you determine the advantages and disadvantages of franchising. Also find links to directories with franchising opportunities.
Law
- BusinessLaw.gov
- Federal, state, and local regulatory information for business.
- Complying with Arizona and federal labor posting requirements
- Federal and Arizona laws require specified notices be posted in a conspicuous places frequented by employees and/or applicants. Copies of the listed posting notices can be obtained for a fee from the Arizona Employers' Council, Inc., by calling (602) 955-7558 or (800) 437-9262.
- United States Department of Labor
- Helps workers and small business understand their rights and responsibilities.
Naming Your Business
- Arizona Corporation Commission: Corporation Name Search
- Search existing corporate names, limited liability companies, trade name or marks, or other business entities on file.
- Arizona Secretary of State
- Includes trademark and tradename application information.
