Library main navigation:

Research & Resources

Info Guides - Adult Education: ABE, GED, English and Spanish Literacy, ESL/ESOL, Citizenship

Navigate the GED for Free!

Participate in free GED classes and earn a voucher to take the test for free at the library! Read more...

Adult Education Services
From the Arizona Department of Education. Classes includes:
  • ABE
  • GED preparation and testing
  • English Language Acquisition for Adults for people who want to learn the English language
  • Citizenship program helps people prepare to take the Citizenship Test
LEARN Literacy Education And Resource Network Program
The goal of the LEARN program is to provide probationers with the skills and attitudes necessary to complete a successful term of probation, become functional members of society, and pursue future educational opportunities. LEARN is a service of Pima County Adult Probation. LEARN offers:
  • GED preparation courses
  • Beginning and intermediate English (ESOL) classes
  • Cognitive skills classes
  • Adult basic education (ABE)
Literacy Volunteers of Tucson (LVT)
The Literacy Volunteers of Tucson partner with the Library to offer adults (16 & older) in our community access to language learning in our branch libraries. If you would like to be a tutor, please contact LVT. Contact LVT at 882-8006. Services include:
  • English Language Acquisition for Adults (ELAA)
  • Basic literacy skills (Adult Basic Education or ABE)
  • Conversation groups for adults at local libraries
  • LVT teaches small groups of students in ESOL, uses team teaching on occasion, and tutors one-to-one in ABE
Pima Community College Adult Basic Education
Pima College Adult Education program (PCAE) offers classes at Learning Centers in Tucson in:
  • Adult Basic Education (ABE - basic reading, writing and math)
  • GED high-school equivalency preparation
  • English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
  • English and Spanish literacy
  • Computer skills
  • Citizenship preparation
Tucson Area Literacy Coalition
List of local literacy centers and programs with contact information. View the 2008 directory (PDF).

Learning Express Library - Free Practice Tests Online

GED, TOEFL, Reading & Writing Skills, US Citizenship... what do these all have in common?

They're all tests and skills that represent the first step toward getting ahead in your education or career...and you can practice them and many others for free, with Learning Express Library!

All you need is your library card.

Language and Literacy Databases

LearningExpressLibrary
Includes practices tests and courses for improving skills in reading, writing and math. Spanish speakers can take courses and tests with instructions in Spanish.
Rosetta Stone
This language-learning database includes courses to help you learn to speak, read, and write in English, French, German, Greek, Russian and Spanish. You will need to register to create an account. This allows the database to keep track of the courses you wish to take.
Tell Me More
A comprehensive foreign language learning method that combines the richness of content with the flexibility and interactive features of multimedia. Through different types of activities, the method aims to develop the essential skills needed to communicate: oral and written comprehension, oral and written expression, vocabulary and grammar.
TumbleBooks
An easy-to-use collection of animated, talking picture books. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.