Research & Resources
Databases & Online Resources
Access quality resources you can't find anywhere else on the web, free with your library card.
- Get your card ready. Pima County residents will need a valid library card to connect to these databases from home. Some of the databases on this list are not available outside the library.
Don't have a card? Search using your zip code.
- Live outside Pima County? Some of these databases are available to you. Look for the symbol. Search using your zip code.
- Can't I just use Google? Find out the difference between databases and websites.
- Articles from Magazines & Other Sources
- Auto Repair
- Biographies
- Books & Literature
- Business
- Countries & Cultures
- Education
- Encyclopedias
- Environment & Nature
- Genealogy
- Grants & Nonprofits
- Health
- History
- Hobbies & Do-It-Yourself
- Homework Help
- Language Learning
- Law & Legal
- Literacy
- Newspapers
- Religion
- Science
- Society & Current Events
- Test Preparation
Browse by Subject
Articles from Magazines and Journals
- A to Z — Alphabetical list of online magazines and where to find them
- Academic Search Complete — Scholarly periodicals and peer-reviewed journals plus reports, conference proceedings, and more
- Bibliography of Native North Americans — All aspects of native North American culture, history, and life
- Alt Health Watch — Perspectives on complementary, Holistic and integrated approaches to health from international and peer-reviewed journals
- Ebsco MasterFile Premier — Full-text magazine articles and more
- EBSCO Español — Artículos de revistas en español
- Education Research Complete — Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education
- FirstSearch — Index of magazine articles (text of the articles is not available)
- Health Source Consumer Edition — Consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books
- Humanities International Complete — Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world
- MAS Ultra — Full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines, plus biographies and primary source documents
- Middle Search — Full text popular, middle school magazines, plus primary source documents, reference books and a collection of photos, maps and flags
- Primary Search — Full text popular, elementary school magazines, plus reference books, and a collection of photos, maps and flags
- Professional Development Collection — Full text education journals
- TOPICsearch — Social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Auto Repair
- Alldata — (Available on library computers only) Auto repair, diagrams, technical service bulletins and more
- Auto Repair Reference Center — Technical service bulletins, recall notices, and auto repair directions
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center — Information on routine maintenance and extensive repairs for ATVs, tractors, motorcycles, and other small engines
Biographies
- Biography Reference Center — A comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies
- Biography Resource Center — Award-winning biographies from respected sources
- Ebsco MasterFile Premier — Biographies of over 138,000 famous people from all fields
- Literary Reference Center — Information on thousands of authors and their works
- MAS Ultra — Full text popular, high school magazines, plus over 85,000 biographies
- Science Online — Biographies of famous people from all fields of science
- Science Reference Center — Biographies of famous people from all fields of science
Books & Literature
- Literary Reference Center — Information on thousands of authors and their works
- NetLibrary — Digital audiobooks and ebooks
- Nonfiction Book Collection: Elementary School Edition — Informative abstracts and searchable full text for 1,290 popular nonfiction books on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, nature, civics and more
- Nonfiction Book Collection: Middle School Edition — Abstracts and searchable full text for 3,089 popular nonfiction books on careers, health, life skills, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, history, and more
- Nonfiction Book Collection: High School Edition — Abstracts and searchable full text for 2,448 popular nonfiction books on careers, health, life skills, technology, music, science, history, civics and more
- NoveList — Reviews and recommendations of fiction titles
- NoveList K-8 — Reviews and recommendations of fiction titles
- OverDrive — Digital audiobooks, ebooks and video
- Tumblebooks — Animated, talking picture books which you can read, or have read to you
- Worldcat — Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
Business
- Business Source Complete —Comprehensive business coverage includes company profiles, financial data, investment research, industry reports, and more
- Career Information Center (eBook) — Job summaries, descriptions, and up-to-date salary information
- CorpTech (from ReferenceUSA) — Detailed coverage of biotech, computer, environmental, and high-tech companies
- Encyclopedia of Small Business — Articles and overviews of the key information needs of small business users
- Business Plans Handbook — eBook collection of business plans
- ReferenceUSA — Directory of U.S. businesses, U.S. residences
- Regional Business News — Full text for more than 80 regional business publications
Countries & Cultures
- America the Beautiful — State-by-state history, information & current events
- CultureGrams — Cultural information on countries around the world
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (eBook) — African-American experience from 1619 to the present day
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (eBook) — Customs, background and settlement patterns of culture groups in the U.S.
- Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Mexican States (eBook) — Information on each of Mexico's 31 states
- Lands & Peoples — Encyclopedia of countries, cultures & current events
Education
- Education Research Complete — Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) — Literature and resources about education
- Professional Development Collection — Full text education journals
Encyclopedias
General
- Encyclopedia Americana — In-depth general encyclopedia for adults & older students
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia — In-depth general encyclopedia
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia — Quick reference with rich media for middle school & higher
- New Book of Knowledge — Covers all homework subjects for elementary school students
- Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre — Spanish language encyclopedia
Subject
- America the Beautiful — State-by-state history, information & current events
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (eBook) — Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
- Encyclopedia of Animals — Easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (eBook) — African-American experience from 1619 to the present day
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (eBook) — Customs, background and settlement patterns of culture groups in the U.S.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library — More than 30 online encyclopedias and reference books
- Grzymek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (eBook) — Animal descriptions, distribution, habitat, behavior, and relationship to humans
- Encyclopedia of American Religions (eBook) — Major religious families and traditions
- Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Mexican States (eBook) — Information on each of Mexico's 31 states
- Lands & Peoples — Encyclopedia of countries, cultures & current events
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (eBook) — People and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities
Genealogy
- HeritageQuest — Historical census information, Freedman's Bank records, Revolutionary War pensions, and more
- America's Obituaries — Obituaries & death notices from hundreds of newspapers from across the country
Grants & Nonprofits
Available inside the library only
Find grants for nonprofit organizations
- Arizona Guide to Grants — Profiles agencies with a history of making grants in Arizona
- Foundation Directory Online — Comprehensive database of grantmakers, companies, grants, and 990s
Find grants for individuals
- Foundation Grants To Individuals Online — Find foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers
Health & Wellnesss
- Alt Health Watch —Perspectives on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness
- Consumer Health Complete — All areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to holistic and integrated medicine
- Health Source Consumer Edition — Consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books
- MedLine Plus — Health information from the National Library of Medicine, available in over 40 languages.
- Salud Para Todos — Base de datos de salud
- Multilingual Health Databases — Translated articles about common medical conditions and procedures in 16 languages, including:
History
- American Decades (eBook) — Analyzes periods of American social history in the 20th Century
- Associated Press Multimedia Archives — Historical photos, sound bytes, and graphics from the world's largest news organization
- Ebsco Image Collection — More than 400,000 photos, maps & flags
- Encyclopedia Americana — In-depth general encyclopedia for adults & older students
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (eBook) — African-American experience from 1619 to the present day
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America (eBook) — Human rights and civil liberties recognized in the United States
- Encyclopedia of the American Revolution (eBook) — People, campaigns, weapons, politics, popular legends, and more
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia — In-depth general encyclopedia
- History Reference Center — Full text reference and non-fiction books, plus leading history periodicals
- Landmarks of the American Revolution — Profiles historical sites and landmarks significant to the war
- World War II Reference Library (eBook) — Covers significant events, topics, and people of the World War II period
- Witchcraft in America (eBook) — History of witchcraft in the US, from the Colonial witch hunts to modern day Wicca
Hobbies & Do-It-Yourself
- Alldata — (Available on library computers only) Auto repair, diagrams, technical service bulletins and more
- Auto Repair Reference Center — Technical service bulletins, recall notices, and auto repair directions
- HeritageQuest — Historical census information, Freedman's Bank records, Revolutionary War pensions, and more
- Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center — Detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast, featuring extensive information on over 140 topics
- Home Improvement Reference Center — The definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including maintenance, remodeling, electrical, plumbing, decorating, home & garden, and more
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center — Information on routine maintenance and extensive repairs for ATVs, tractors, generators, motorcycles, power equipment, and other small engines
Homework Help
Tutoring, Skills-Building & Test Preparation
- LearningExpressLibrary — Practice tests for SAT, GED, ASVAB & more
- Online Homework Help — Live tutors plus video tutorials and skills-building
- Skills Tutor — Improve reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, mathematics, language, algebra, science, information and workforce readiness skills
Research
- Academic Search Complete — Scholarly periodicals and peer-reviewed journals plus reports, conference proceedings, and more
- Kids Search — Designed for elementary school students to find subjects of interest across all applicable databases simultaneously
- Middle Search Plus — Designed for middle school students to find subjects of interest across all applicable databases simultaneously
- Searchasaurus — An animated interface with a dinosaur theme for users in elementary schools
- Student Research Center — The most appropriate research tools for middle and high school students to easily obtain information from our EBSCO databases
Language Learning
- Tell Me More — In-depth course for speaking, reading, and writing in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian & Spanish (Having Trouble?)
Law & Legal
- Hein Online — Legal periodicals and other legal collections
Literacy
- Skills Tutor — Improve reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, mathematics, language, algebra, science, information and workforce readiness skills
- Tell Me More — In-depth course for speaking, reading, and writing in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian & Spanish (Having Trouble?)
- Tumblebooks — Animated, talking picture books which you can read, or have read to you
Environment & Nature
- Alternative Energy (eBook) — Issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options
- Endangered Species (eBook) — Information about the many species threatened by extinction
- Environment Complete — Ecology and environment index with many full-text articles
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (eBook) — Descriptions, distribution, habitat, behavior, and relationship to humans
- Plant Sciences (eBook) — All aspects of plant sciences, including articles on careers and important individuals
- Pollution A to Z (eBook) — Pollution issues including sources, disposal, remediation, legal & ethical issues, careers, and more
- Science Reference Center — Full text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering biology, earth science, environment, wildlife, and more
Newspapers
- Associated Press Multimedia Archives — Photos, sound bytes, and graphics from the world's largest news organization
- Ebsco Image Collection — More than 400,000 photos, maps & flags
- Newspaper Source Plus — Newspapers, TV & radio news transcripts
- NewsBank — Arizona Daily Star & over 500 newspapers from across the country
- ProQuest Newspapers — Arizona Republic, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
- Tucson Local News Portal — An up-to-the-minute news feed, with local jobs and obituaries from NewsBank
Religion
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (eBook) — Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
- Encyclopedia of American Religions (eBook) — Major religious families and traditions
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (eBook) — People and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities
- World Religions Reference Library (eBook) — History, traditions and worldviews of religions and their offshoots
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (eBook) — PCovers current religious practices around the world
Science
- Alternative Energy (eBook) — Issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options
- Mathematics (eBook) — Explores the function of math in daily life, as well as in measurement, data analysis, and technology
- New Book of Popular Science— Science & technology encyclopedia
- Science Online — Presents a range of disciplines through definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments
- Science Reference Center — Full text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering biology, chemistry, earth science, environment, health & medicine, physics, technology, wildlife, and more
- World of Forensic Science (eBook) — A guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social and ethical issues involved in forensic science
Society & Current Events
- Bibliography of Native North Americans All aspects of native North American culture, history, and life
- Encyclopedia of Disability (eBook) — Disabilities A to Z
- Encylopedia of Education (eBook) — The enterprise of education in the United States and throughout the world
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (eBook) — Food and its place in human culture and society
- Extremist Groups: Information for Students (eBook) — Overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today
- Points of View Reference Center — Explores multiple sides of current issues, including affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, immigration, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, and many more
- TOPICsearch — Social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints
Tutoring, Skills-Building & Test Preparation
- Tutor.com Online Tutoring — Live tutors, plus video tutorials, skills-building and resume help
- LearningExpressLibrary — Practice tests for SAT, GED, ASVAB & more
- Skills Tutor — Improve reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, mathematics, language, algebra, science, information and workforce readiness skills
