Library main navigation:

Research & Resources

Databases & Online Collections

Search all of our Databases at once with Speedy Search!
All you need is your library card.

Advanced Search

Enter term:
  • Get your card ready. You will need a valid library card to connect to these databases from home. Some of the databases on this list are not available outside the library.
  • Don't have a card? Sign up for a Database Access Code without having to come into the library.

A

A to Z
An alphabetical listing of online magazines (most of them full-text) that can be searched right at the computer.
ALLDATA/Car Repair (only from library)
Comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. Access to engine-specific diagnostic and repair procedures, including electrical wiring diagrams, factory technical service bulletins, and maintenance schedules and tables for most all foreign and domestic cars and trucks model years 1982 and newer.
Alternative Energy
This three-volume eBook set introduces users to issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options. While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal, and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand. These options include wind and solar energy, fuel cells, hydropower, geothermal power, and biomass energy. In addition, more theoretical sources are also explored, including cold fusion, zero point energy, and universal forces. Entries discuss the science behind the energy source, notable scientists and scientific discoveries, current examples of use, and the issues, challenges, and obstacles to large-scale use.
America the Beautiful
State-by-state history & current events database inspired by the America the Beautiful book series published by Childrens Press®, an imprint of Scholastic Library Publishing.
American Decades
A cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and general researchers who want a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Antiques Reference
Information drawn from leading regional auction houses, plus other selected specialist auctions throughout the United States, used to establish current market values.
Arizona Guide to Grants (only from library)
Available on the Internet on computers at any library location. The Guide contains detailed profiles on more than 1,800 corporations and foundations with a history of making grants to Arizona nonprofits, schools, and other community groups. Profiles include complete contact listings, program descriptions, areas of grantmaking interest, examples of grants awarded, and more.
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, this resource presents the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. It provides an overview of each period and a chronology of major world events, plus detailed coverage of the major branches of the humanities.
Associated Press Multimedia Archive
The AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive is an electronic library containing the Associated Press' current year's photo report and a selection of images from their vast negative and print library dating from the 1840s. Today, the Multimedia Archive contains over 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995, and grows daily as hundreds of new photos enter the Multimedia Archive from AP's worldwide picture report.
Auto Repair Reference Center
Contains automotive repair information created by ASE certified technicians, including drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins & recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications & maintenance schedules, and a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance. Covers most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.

Return to top

B

Biography Resource Center
A great resource of biographical information on nearly 275,000 people from throughout history, around the globe, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Included are more than 21,000 images to make this a comprehensive resource for anyone searching for biographical information on noted persons.
Business & Company Resource Center
Brings together a wide variety of global business information, enabling you to efficiently research business case studies, competitive intelligence, and career and investment opportunities.
Business Plans Handbook
A collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. It includes sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries — only company names and addresses have been changed.

Return to top

C

Car Repair/ALLDATA (only from library)
Comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. Access to engine-specific diagnostic and repair procedures, including electrical wiring diagrams, factory technical service bulletins, and maintenance schedules and tables for most all foreign and domestic cars and trucks model years 1982 and newer.
Career Information Center
Updated with a full volume devoted to computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information. The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different aspects of employment.
Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
CorpTech (from ReferenceUSA)
Detailed coverage of biotech, computer, environmental, and other high-tech companies.
CultureGrams
Cultural data on 187 countries around the world, including customs and courtesies, gestures, visiting, diet, dating & marriage, etc. Also includes country maps, statistical information, and brief descriptions of Government, Economy, Health, and more.

Return to top

D

Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database
Comprehensive marketing information on both public and private companies and their executives. It covers approximately the largest 450,000 companies in the United States and is available for use at all PCPL libraries, although it is not available to users outside of the library.

E

EbscoHost MasterFile Premier (magazine articles)
Index and abstracts to almost 3000 magazines covering a broad range of topics. Many are available in full-text, dating as far back as 1990. Includes full-text articles from Consumer Reports.
EBSCOHost Español
Artículos de revistas en español (Spanish language magazine articles)
EBSCO Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Encyclopedia Americana
An in-depth encyclopedia database for adults & older students.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces — many by the foremost scholars in the field — this resource addresses a wide array of subjects to fully define the cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
A comprehensive, alphabetically-organized reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the United States. 677 entries address civil rights issues such as race, gender, age, medical status or conditions, physical and mental challenges, group membership, religion, and many others.
Encyclopedia of Disability
A resource to help improve your understanding and appreciation of the world of disability. It covers disabilities A to Z, including a Reader's Guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Also contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
The content emphasis is on updating of both topics and statistics across a broad spectrum. Specifically addressing the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, the volumes explore not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.
Encylopedia of Education
Provides a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines, and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
This convenient and exhaustive print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution
The new edition of this encyclopedia profiles both lesser-known and famous battles throughout the period 1763-1783. It also features biographies of key participants and details regarding campaigns and strategy, battles, skirmishes, naval actions, weaponry, political issues and events, popular legends, and the participation of European powers.
Endangered Species
Completely updated to reflect the changes in endangered and threatened status. This resource provides color photographs and maps to further illustrate the many species threatened by extinction, including amphibians, birds, crustaceans, fish, insects, mammals, mollusks, reptiles, and more. Each entry gives a species description, location, reason for endangerment, and measures being taken to prevent it from extinction.
Enfermedades y Trastornos de la Salud
Esta traducción de la aclamada obra "Human Diseases and Conditions" de Scribner's, provee a los investigadores de una detallada fuente de información sobre medicina y salud. Contiene información de 280 enfermedades y condiciones, muestra imágenes a todo color y está escrita en un lenguaje narrativo fácil de comprender. Este set, de tres volúmenes es recomendable para investigadores y estudiantes de todos los niveles.
Environment Complete
Covers ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environment, public policy, urban planning, and more. Includes full text articles from 400 journals.
Expanded Academic Index
Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers covering all academic disciplines
Extremist Groups: Information for Students
Provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. Aryan Nations, Operation Rescue, Earth First!, Al Qaeda, and Basque Euskadi Ta Askatasuna (ETA) are among the groups featured. Entries include short biographies of prominent figures in the organization, primary documents, and a chronology of group events.

Return to top

F

FirstSearch
Provides online access to an extensive collection of general and specialized databases covering a wide range of subject areas. Features links to abstracts, articles, indexes, reviews, and full text of works such as dissertations, journals, reports, and conference proceedings and papers. Includes WorldCat, the OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Foundation Directory Online (library use only)
An unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes a database of nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants.
Foundation Grants To Individuals Online (library use only)
This database allows you to search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

Return to top

G

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence
The set, which covers every major body system, is arranged into five main entry types: Diseases and Disorders; Development; Immunizations; Drugs; and Procedures. With a distinct emphasis on the health issues affecting children under the age of four, the Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health provides a much-needed service to new parents.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online collection of 20 popular reference titles, including Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, American Decades, Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Witchcraft in America, World War II Reference Library, and Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia.
General Reference Center Gold
This resource center integrates a vast array of key business and general interest titles, from national news magazines and encyclopedias to core business journals.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
An online quick reference resource with rich media, designed for middle school students & higher.
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, with ongoing additions of new and updated articles. Also includes over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, as well as extensive image links.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.

Return to top

H

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Comprehensive resource that provides access to medical, health, and wellness information from a variety of resources including reference books, periodical articles, pamphlets, reference and health organizations.
Health Reference Center Academic
Covers a wide varitey of health related topics, including many full-text articles. Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Hein Online
A comprehensive, image-based collection of hundreds of legal periodicals and other legal collections.
HeritageQuest (genealogy database)
A comprehensive online resource to find U.S. census data, family records, city directories, birth and death records and local histories. This is a great starting point for genealogists or anyone interested in their own family history.

Return to top

I

Informé
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines – not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.
InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile includes more than 6,000 full-text titles and five newspaper indexes – a total of nearly 10,000 titles in all – with more than 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.

Return to top

J

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Mexican States
Arranged by 28 consistent subheadings so students can quickly compare facts, Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Mexican States provides up-to-date information on each of Mexico's 31 states. Topics covered include climate, plants and animals, population and ethnic groups, religions, transportation, history, state and local governments, political parties, judicial system, economy, education, arts, media, tourism, sports, famous people, and much more.

Return to top

L

Landmarks of the American Revolution
Zooming in on key locations connected to the American Revolution, this expanded and completely revised edition of Col. Mark M. Boatner III's original book goes beyond U.S. borders when profiling historical sites and landmarks significant to the war. The original state-by-state guide now also includes coverage of the war in the West Indies and an expanded treatment of Canada.
Lands & Peoples
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures & current events.
LearningExpressLibrary
SAT, GED, ASVAB & other tests.
LegalTrac
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Includes articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation – as well as British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.
Literature Resource Center
The premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods. Literature Resource Center is built on three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Return to top

M

Mathematics
Explores the functions of math in daily life, as well as its role as a tool for measurement, data analysis, and technological development. This illustrated eBook also explains basic concepts of math and geometry, and provides information on historical milestones, notable mathematicians, and today's career choices. Includes photos, illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, and a glossary.
MedLine Plus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Health (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Million Dollar Database – Dun & Bradstreet
Covers approximately the largest 450,000 companies in the United States and is available for use at all PCPL libraries, although it is not available to users outside of the library.

Return to top

N

NetLibrary
Digital audiobooks and ebooks. Digital audiobooks can be listened to on your computer or compatible mp3 player. Ebooks are for on-screen reading only. For more information, see Digital Downloads.
New Book of Knowledge
This reference & current events database was specially-designed for elementary school students.
New Book of Popular Science
Science & technology, plus sicence in the news. Designed for middle and high school students, and older.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, this resource is the first place to turn for answers to questions on topics such as abortion, divorce, cloning, and reproductive technologies. In addition to the hundreds articles on a wide variety of topics, this resource also features biographies of contemporary religious figures, thousands of photos, maps, and illustrations, and completely updated bibliographical citations.
NewsBank Newspaper Database
News articles from over 500 national newpapers, including the Arizona Daily Star, The Arizona Republic, Tucson Citizen, and New York Times.
NoveList and NoveList K-8
A great resource for reader's advisory that lets you find reviews and recommendations for over 125,000 fiction titles. The Pima County Public Library is pleased to announce the addition of the new database NoveList, from EBSCOHost.
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
A Spanish-language encyclopedia.

Return to top

O

Online Homework Help
Homework help provided by qualified tutors online. Available every day from 3:00-10:00 pm.
Opposing Viewpoints
This social issues database provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, and much more.
OverDrive
Digital audiobooks and ebooks. Digital audiobooks can be listed to on your computer, transfered to a compatible portable device, or burned to CD. Ebooks can be transfered to a portable device or read on your computer screen. For more information, see Digital Downloads.

Return to top

P

Plant Sciences
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of plant sciences, from forensic botany to genetic engineering, from wheat to kudzu. Includes articles on careers related to plant sciences and important individuals, as well as topics from acid rain to wood products. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. A glossary illuminates scientific terms.
ProQuest Newspapers
Full-text articles from New York Times, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, and the Wall Street Journal.

R

ReferenceUSA
Covers over 12 million U.S. businesses and a national residential directory with over 120 million listings.
Rosetta Stone
Temporarily unavailable. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Return to top

S

Salud Para Todos (Spanish Health Database)
Salud Para Todos es una base de datos de la salud completa, escrita enteramente en español.
Science Online
This school-assignment oriented database offers science experiments, diagrams, essays, definitions and biographies arranged in an easy to search format. This easy-to-use database will be valuable for students, teachers and for the general public seeking information in the area of general science.
Science Resource Center
Part of the Thomson Gale product line for students, Science Resource Center is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. This 24/7 resource reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms.
SIRS (Social Issues Resources Service)
a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring a wide range of issues. Includes:
  • SIRS Researcher General reference, social issues, health, science, and business
  • SIRS Discoverer General reference database designed for young researchers
  • SIRS Renaissance Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities
  • SIRS Government Reporter – government documents, Supreme Court decisions, information about U.S. Justices and elected leaders, federal departments and agencies
  • SIRS Web Select – Selected websites on a broad range of issues
StarNet Archives
This archive contains articles from the Arizona Daily Star that date back to 1991.
StarNet Today/This Week
This archive contains articles from the Arizona Daily Star for the last seven days.

Return to top

T

Teen Health & Wellness
a comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being. It's both a research/report tool and a self-help resource.
Tell Me More
TELL ME MORE is a comprehensive foreign language learning method that combines the richness of content with the flexibility and interactive features of multimedia. Through different types of activities, the method aims to develop the essential skills needed to communicate: oral and written comprehension, oral and written expression, vocabulary and grammar. Tech support can be called at 1.888.388.3535.
Thomson Gale Legal Forms
Provides a wide selection of Arizona legal forms, including real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also includes a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions.
Tucson Pima Newspaper Database (NewsBank)
Full text articles (going back at least a year) that have appeared in Arizona Daily Star, The (Tucson, AZ) (1991-Current) Arizona Republic, The (Phoenix, AZ) (1999-Current) Tucson Citizen (AZ) (1999-Current) New York Times(includes The Book Review and Magazine) (NY) - (2000-Current)
TumbleBooks
An easy-to-use collection of animated, talking picture books. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.

Return to top

W

What Do I Read Next
Looking for a good read or just some guidance in finding a favorite subject or genre? Use this resource to find over 100,000 award-winning reads categorized by subject, genre, time period, geographic location, character, reading level and more.
Witchcraft in America
This fascinating and informative source covers the history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that facilitated the witch hunts during the Colonial Period to modern day followers of Wicca. Chapters include full text or excerpts from trial transcripts, diary entries, public notices, and many other primary sources. Biographical essays highlight prominent figures related to the Salem witch trials.
World of Forensic Science
A convenient, comprehensive guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences. Approximately 600 entries cover the individuals, techniques, and principles of biology, chemistry, law, medicine, physics, computer science, geology, and psychology involved in the multidisciplinary approach of examining crime scenes and evidence to be used in legal proceedings.
World Religions Reference Library
UXL's World Religions Reference Library meets the demand for a thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religions and their sects and offshoots. The two Almanac volumes focus on Christianity, Islam, Sikhism, Hinduism, Buddhism and Judaism. Less traditional and practiced religions are also included such as Shinto and Daoism. The two Biographies volumes cover the lives and influence of key figures in various religions and religious movements throughout history. Biography entries include Jesus, Buddha, Muhammad, Martin Luther, Moses, Black Elk, Gandhi, Mother Theresa and others. The Primary Sources volume excerpts and explains scriptures, spiritual writings and other sources that allow students to gain an appreciation of the core beliefs of the world's religions. Includes a separately published comprehensive index.
World War II Reference Library
Covers significant events, topics, and people related to the World War II period. Provides the in-depth information that students need to write reports and class assignments, including biographical profiles and primary source materials.
WorldCat (catalog holdings of libraries both U.S. and worldwide)
A comprehensive linking of the catalog holdings of the majority of libraries both U.S. and worldwide. Included are books, audio-visual, periodicals, manuscripts, genealogy materials all accessible by a straight-forward search engine.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers. Entries cover everything from central doctrines and sacred texts to dietary customs and significant holidays. The resource explores 13 major religions and 28 denominations, and spans 193 countries in Asia and Oceania, Europe, the Americas, Africa, and the Middle East. Also includes 300 illustrations, belief tables showing how individual religions are unique and what they share with other religions, a calendar of holy days, a glossary, maps, a cumulative index, and much more.

Return to top