The Arizona State Minimum wage starting in January 2013 is $7.80 per hour.
Arizona voters passed a Minimum Wage Proposition (Proposition 202) in November 2006. This proposition states that the Arizona State Minimum wage will be adjusted each January for inflation.
Minimum wage for tipped workers in Arizona--An employer must pay at least $4.80 an hour to tipped employees who may make up the rest in tips. (This new wage also started on January 1, 2009). Tip pools and splitting tips are fine as long as the employer records the amount of tips each employee receives.
Starting July 24, 2009 Federal Minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Nearly all employees must be paid the minimum wage. You do not have to pay minimum wage to your children or siblings who work for you, a casual baby sitter or independent contractors.
Contact the Arizona State Labor Department’s Tucson Office:
2675 E. Broadway #125