Legal Drinking Age
21 in all states;* Arizona, changed to 21 on January 1, 1985**
Arizona passed a law in May 1972 that made the legal drinking age 19 years old. From 1972 to 1985 the legal drinking age in Arizona was 19 years old.
Vermont was considering lowering the minimum drinking age in February 2008. "Vermont stands to lose about $17 million a year if it were to flout the federal government and lower the drinking age."
Fox News http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,334089,00.html
"Bill OKs drinking rights of 19-year old." Arizona Daily Star. May 14, 1982. Page 1.
*Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior."Minimum drinking age laws" Volume 2. Page 688. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan. c2001.
**"Law won't dry us out youthful drinkers say." Arizona Daily Star. December 30, 1984. Page 1