Librarian Files

July 4th fireworks in Tucson

Fireworks shows for July 4th were held at the University of Arizona football stadium until 1978. The fireworks show ended in 1978 because of fire and safety concerns.
Then the Tucson Jaycees put on July 4th fireworks shows at the Pima County Fairgrounds.  This ended in 1981 due to poor ticket sales.
Old Tucson started the July 4th fireworks shows in 1982.  This did not work because thousands of spectators trampled desert areas in the Tucson Mountain Park, rather than paying for admission to Old Tucson.
In 1983 there were no major July 4th fireworks shows in Tucson.
In 1984 the City of Tucson starting shooting the July 4th fireworks off “A” mountain.  
On July 4, 2002, all fireworks were banned in the City of Tucson and Pima County.   This was done because of extreme fire danger.  There were no fireworks in Tucson, Marana, Sahuarita or Oro Valley.  The City of Tucson had a laser light display for their official July 4th celebration at the Tucson Convention Center.
In 2009 the City of Tucson cancelled the July 4th fireworks because of budget problems. Several businesses and community organizations provided funding, so the July 4, 2009 fireworks show continued.
"City, county ban all fireworks." Arizona Daily Star. July 1, 2002.  Page A7. 
"July 4th celebrations." Arizona Daily Star. July 5, 2002 Page 1.
“Tucson cancels July 4th fireworks.”  Arizona Daily Star. June 4, 2009. Page 1.

Article tagged with: Fireworks, Tucson, July 4

Last Update: 6-30-2014 11:25am

<< Back
Pima County Website