Catalog, My Account & Databases Troubleshooting Guide

This guide may help you if you are having trouble:

  • Accessing parts or all of the catalog
  • Accessing our suggestion form
  • Accessing My Account
  • Staying logged in to My Account
  • Logging in to our databases
  • Receiving a secruity certificate error message when logging in to My Account

If these suggestions do not resolve your issue, please call Infoline at 791-4010 or fill out our Ask Technical Support Form with a detailed explanation of what you are experiencing and we will be happy to assist you.

Step 1: Check the website address (URL)

Please make sure you have the following website addresses bookmarked. Bookmarks to the library's old addresses will no longer work.

Any old bookmarks on your computer should be updated.

Step 2: Check your Internet security software settings

Do you have a firewall or security suite?

Sometimes firewalls and security suites block sites, including our online catalog and databases.

Do you have Norton Internet Security, Norton Personal Firewall or Norton Antivirus?

Norton products may block access to our online catalog and databases. There are two settings you should check - Browser Privacy and Cookie Blocking.

Browser Privacy

Browser Privacy prevents websites from finding out which website you last visited. For our login system to work, the browser must be able to tell the login system which website you last visited. When Browser Privacy is enabled, this is impossible.

If you disable this feature while you use our website, you should not have any access problems. You can then enable the feature when you are finished using our website.

Here is how to disable and enable Browser Privacy:

Disabling Browser Privacy
  • On the left side of the Norton Internet Security window, click Privacy Control.
  • Click the Settings For arrow and select the account that you want to change.
  • Click Custom Level.
  • In the Customize Privacy Settings dialog box, un-check the box that says Enable Browser Privacy.
Enabling Browser Privacy
  • On the left side of the Norton Internet Security window, click Privacy Control.
  • Click the Settings For arrow and select the account that you want to change.
  • Click Custom Level.
  • In the Customize Privacy Settings dialog box, check Enable Browser Privacy.

About Cookies:

Rest assured that our catalog and databases do not put any harmful cookies or "spyware" on your machine.

Cookie Blocking

Norton has a separate Cookie Blocking control panel. If you block the library's site even one time using your Norton software, you may not be able to access our catalog or databases. Find out more about cookies on Wikipedia.

First follow these instructions for how to change the Cookie Blocking setting in Norton. Then follow the instructions to clear cookies and history in your browser (see "On this page" above) before you try logging in again.

To change the Cookie Blocking setting:
  • On the left side of the Norton Internet Security window, click Privacy Control.
  • Click the Settings For arrow and select the account that you want to change.
  • Click Custom Level.
  • Select None to enable all cookies. You can change the Cookie Blocking setting to High or Medium after you are finished using the library's databases.

Step 3: Check your firewall settings

Do you have a personal or corporate firewall?

Firewalls are often part of a security suite or antivirus program.

Firewalls may impede access to our online catalog and databases. You may need to temporarily disable your firewall to successfully log in. You can then enable your firewall when you are finished using the library's website. Follow the instruction manual that came with your firewall to disable and enable your firewall.

Remove from Deny List

If your firewall has blocked our site or a section of our site, even once, you may not be able to login to our databases or My Account to view your library record. You may need to take our website off your "deny" list. Please refer to the instruction manual that came with your firewall or antivirus program for details. Each system works a little differently.

Look for the following URLs in your deny list, and remove them or any variations you may see that start with these URLs:

http://www.library.pima.gov/
https://librarycatalog.pima.gov/
http://librarycatalog.pima.gov/

Please note

The library's website has changed recently. Please make sure you have the following website addresses bookmarked:

Any old bookmarks on your computer should be updated.

Add to Trusted Site List

You can add our website to your list of "trusted sites" in your firewall or antivirus program to ensure that you will be able to connect. You will want to add the following URLs to this list:

http://www.library.pima.gov/
https://librarycatalog.pima.gov/
http://librarycatalog.pima.gov/

Please refer to the instruction manual that came with your firewall or antivirus program for details. Each system works a little differently.

Step 4: Instructions for AOL, WalmartConnect and CompuServe users

Using browsers provided by AOL, WalmartConnect, CompuServe, etc. can cause problems when accessing the library's catalog or databases.

AOL and other services use a modified version of Microsoft Internet Explorer to access web pages. Unfortunately, these versions are often incompatible with the catalog, as well as some of our databases.

How can you solve this problem?

Use another browser such as Firefox or Internet Explorer when accessing the library website. Downloading a new browser only takes a moment. Internet Explorer may already be on your computer. Look for a blue "e" icon in your Programs menu or on your desktop.

How to use another browser:

  • Connect to the Internet via AOL, Walmart or CompuServe as usual.
  • Double-click the Internet Explorer "e" icon on your desktop or in your Programs menu.

    DO NOT close the AOL, WalmartConnect, or CompuServe browser, and do not disconnect.
    The AOL, WalmartConnect, or CompuServe browser will still run in the background to maintain your connection to the Internet.
  • Type www.library.pima.gov in the address bar and click on 'Go'.
  • Use the library's website to access databases, the catalog or My Account.
  • When you are finished using the library's website, close Firefox or Internet Explorer.

The AOL, WalmartConnect, or CompuServe browser will still be running. Use that browser to do any further work on the Internet, then disconnect when you are finished.

If you use AOL, WalmartConnect or CompuServe, you may see the following error message:

566 Response HTTP Version Unsupported

This message may come up on web pages if you are using the browsers provided by your service to view websites. The browsers from AOL, Walmart anc CompuServe seems to have trouble with ours and many other sites. The browsers they supply are simply not as fully featured as other browsers currently available.

We have not been able to determine what the browsers don't like. The only successful answer we've been able to find so far is to Internet Explorer or Firefox (see instructions above).

If we find a resolution to this problem, we'll post it here. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Return to top

Step 5: Check your cookie settings

Do you have cookies blocked?

Not accepting cookies will cause problems when moving around inside the catalog, particularly within My Account, and in the databases.

Cookies are small files that a website might store on your computer to assist the website with "remembering" things. In this case, you need to have cookies enabled so that the catalog website can remember that you are logged in. Find out more about cookies on Wikipedia.

Cookies are required for login to your own library account and for access to library databases.

Note:

The computer does not store any personal login information in cookies.

To turn cookies on in Internet Explorer or Netscape, see the table below, Step 9: Adjust Your Browser Settings.

Return to top

Step 6: Make sure you don't have IE Content Advisor enabled

Are you using IE Content Advisor?

Internet Explorer (IE) Content Advisor is a feature in the IE browser that can restrict access to certain websites based on your settings.

It can interfere with the catalog causing the catalog to request you to login even when you have already done so. In other words, you will have trouble staying logged in.

If you are using IE, make sure Content Advisor is turned off before logging in to the catalog.

To make sure Content Advisor is off in Internet Explorer:

  • Click on "Tools," located in the menu bar at the top of your IE browser.
  • From the "Tools" menu, select "Internet Options". This will open a new window entitled "Internet Options".
  • Select the "Content" tab from this window
  • In the box labeled "Content Advisor", look for a button labeled "Disable" or "Enable".
    • If the button is labeled "Disable", click the button to turn off Content Advisor.
      (This feature may be password protected. If so, a password window will open. Type your password and click "OK".)
      The button is now labeled "Enable".
    • If the button is labeled "Enable", Content Advisor is already off. Leave it as is.

Return to top

Step 7: Check your JavaScript settings

Do you have JavaScript enabled?

You must have JavaScript enabled when using the catalog. JavaScript allows certain functions of the catalog to run. Not having JavaScript enabled blocks these functions.

To enable Javascript, please see the help files in your browser.

Return to top

Step 8: Check your computer for spyware or adware

Spyware and adware are applications that run on your computer without your explicit permission. They may gather information about the your activity and deliver it to third parties, or they may display unwanted advertising in the browser. Spyware and adware can interfere with the catalog website.

You may need to update and run your virus protection software to determine if you have spyware/adware and remove it. Please follow the instructions in your virus protection software.

Return to top

Step 9: Adjust your browser settings

The following instructions will guide you to optimizing your browser settings for use with our website.

Internet Explorer 9

Internet Explorer 8

  • Open Internet Explorer
  • Go to the "Tools" menu
  • Select "Internet Options..."
  • Under the heading "Browsing history," click on the "Delete..." button
  • Mark the check box next to "Temporary Internet Files," "Cookies," and "History, "then click on "Delete"
  • Under the heading "Browsing history," click on "Settings"
  • Select the radio button next to "Every time I visit the webpage," then click on OK.
  • Click on the Privacy tab
  • Drag the slider down to "Accept All Cookies"
  • Click "OK"
  • Click "Connections" tab
  • Click "LAN Settings..."
  • Uncheck "Use a proxy server for your LAN" (This option may not be checked)
  • Click "OK"
  • Click "OK" again
  • Close Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer 7

  • Open Internet Explorer
  • Go to the "Tools" menu
  • Select "Internet Options..."
  • Under the heading "Browsing history," click on the "Delete..." button
  • Click "Delete files..." under "Temporary Internet Files," then click on "Yes"
  • Click "Delete files..." under "Cookies," then click on "Yes"
  • Click "Delete files..." under "History," then click on "Yes"
  • Click on "Close"
  • Under the heading "Browsing history," click on "Settings"
  • Select the radio button next to "Every time I visit the webpage," then click on OK.
  • Click on the Privacy tab
  • Drag the slider down to "Accept All Cookies"
  • Click "OK"
  • Click "Connections" tab
  • Click "LAN Settings..."
  • Uncheck "Use a proxy server for your LAN" (This option may not be checked)
  • Click "OK"
  • Click "OK" again
  • Close Internet Explorer

You may change these settings back to default after using the library's website.

Safari 3.0.4 for Mac

  • Open Safari
  • Click Safari, select Preferences
  • Click on Security
  • Click on Show Cookies
  • Click Remove All twice
  • Click Done
  • Click the radio button for "Accept Cookies: Only from sites you navigate to" (this is the default setting)
  • Close Preferences box

Return to top

Step 10: For Dial-up Users

Some dial-up browsers use what is called a "dial-up accelerator" or "Internet accelerator" to speed up your internet connection. It is possible the accelerator is preventing your browser from getting to the library's catalog and/or My Account login page.

A possible solution to disable the accelerator while you use the library's catalog and My Account features, then enable it when you are done using the library's website.

Since each system may use a different kind of accelerator, please contact the technical support for your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for assistance.

Return to top

Step 11: For WebTV Users

Our Catalog and My Account system may not work on WebTV. Per the vendor of our system, Innovative Interfaces:

Unfortunately, the WebTV browser is not one of those that we support. Innovative recommends using a modern browser capable of supporting current web standards.

We apologize for this inconvenience.

Return to top

Pima County Website