Your Community

Homeless Service Agencies

Bilingual Guide to Services

Need Help? Finding services for people who are homeless or near-homeless.
¿Necesita Ayuda? Encuentre servicios para personas sin hogar.

Definitions:

Emergency Shelter – short term housing (overnight, 4 days, 7 days)
Transitional Housing – (90 – 120 day transitional housing with case management)

Domestic Violence

24-Hour Bilingual Crisis Line and Shelter
(520) 795-4266 or toll-free (888) 428-0101 or (520) 795-3177 TTY
Offers confidential shelter facilities for those escaping domestic abuse.
Emerge Center
Admin: 2545 E. Adams St. 85716
(520) 795-8001
Provides crisis intervention and housing.
TMM Family Services, Inc. – Women/Women with children
Admin: 1550 N. Country Club Rd. 85716
(520) 322-9557
Provides transitional shelter for single women and women with children recovering from domestic violence, substance abuse, and/or mental illness.
Wingspan Anti-Violence Project - LGBT
Admin: 430 E. 7th St. 85705
(520) 624-1779
24-Hour Crisis Line: (520) 624-0348 or toll-free (800) 553-9387
Provides free and confidential 24-Hour crisis intervention, information, support, referrals, emergency shelter, and advocacy to LGBT victims/survivors of violence.

Return to top

Families

The Giving Tree
Admin: 931 N. Swan Rd. 85711
(520) 320-5437
Provides services to Tucson's homeless, near-homeless and poverty-level children, families, and individuals. Services include hot meals, emergency food boxes, and clothing and toiletries to all participants at our twice-weekly food program every Thursday and Sunday at 4:30pm until 5:30pm at "The Lot" at 4431 East 22nd Street between Columbus and Swan just west of the Family Dollar Store.
Pio Decimo Center
Admin: 848 S. 7th Av. 85701
(520) 622-2801
Offers transitional shelter for families in South Tucson.
Primavera - Greyhound Family Shelter
Admin: 702 S. 6th Av. 85701
(520) 623-5111
Has 17 units available for 90 days to serve families who have become homeless.
Salvation Army Hospitality House
1021 N. 11th Av. 85705
(520) 622-5411 Provides transitional and emergency shelter and case management for single men and women with and without children.

Return to top

Infants & Children

Casa de los Niños
Admin: 1101 N. 4th Av. 85705
(520) 624-5600
Licensed to accommodate 48 children, the focus is the care of children younger than 12, and their specialty is the stabilization of youngsters with medical problems.

Return to top

Meals

De Porres, Inc.
845 N Main Avenue 85705
(520) 882-5641
Meals served at religious congregations in town.

Return to top

Men

Gospel Rescue Mission
Admin: 326 W. 28th St. 85713
(520) 740-1501
Men’s Shelter
312 W. 28th St. 85713
(520) 740-1501
Offers emergency services of meals, shelter beds, clothing, showers, personal care items, and case management services.
Primavera - Men’s Shelter
Admin: 702 S. Sixth Av. 85701
(520) 623-5111
Emergency Services: (520) 623-4300
Provides meals, laundry, and shower facilities in a clean, sober setting with 100 beds.
Salvation Army Hospitality House
1021 N.11th Av. 85705
(520) 622-5411
Offers transitional and emergency shelter and case management for single men and women with and without children.

Return to top

Men and Women with AIDS

Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation
Admin: 375 S. Euclid Av. 85719
(520) 628-7223 or toll-free (800) 771-9054
Provides subsidized, affordable housing for people with AIDS who qualify.

Return to top

Men & Women with Substance Abuse/Mental Illness

Casa Santa Clara – Men (Old Pueblo Community Foundation)
Admin: 4501 E. 5th St. 85711
(520) 546-0122
Offers transitional shelter for men with substance abuse problems.
CODAC Behavioral Health Services
Admin: 1650 E. Ft. Lowell Rd., Suite 202, 85719
(520) 327-4505
Enrollment Dept.: (520) 202-1840
Offers outpatient services for adults, young adults, and children who are recovering from substance abuse and/or dealing with mental health disorders. A small residential treatment program is available to pregnant women and parenting women with children 6 and younger.
Community Partnership of Southern Arizona
Admin: 535 N. Wilmot Rd., Suite 201, 85711
(520) 325-4268 or toll-free (800) 959-1063
Member Services: (520) 318-6946 or toll-free (800) 771-9889 or (866) 318-6960 (TTY)
Coordinates publicly-funded behavioral health treatment and prevention services in southern Arizona.
COPE Behavioral Services
Admin: 82 S. Stone Av. 85701
(520) 792-3293
Residential services: (520) 792-3293
Provides residential services to adults with serious mental illness and those who have other behavioral health and/or substance abuse issues.
The Haven – Women & Women with Children
1107 E. Adelaide 85719
(520) 623-4590
Works with homeless and near homeless women to stabilize them and prevent future homelessness by providing addiction treatment services. Women (and their young children, if they have any) are provided safe and secure facilities while the women access residential treatment services.
A New Hope for Tucson Foundation - Men
Admin: 3537 E. Hardy Dr. 85716
(520) 406-3163
Provides transitional housing for homeless, poor, and marginalized adult men.
Oasis House – Women (Old Pueblo Community Foundation)
Admin: 4501 E. 5th St. 85711
(520) 546-0122
Offers transitional shelter for women with substance abuse problems.
RAPP Project Connect
Admin: 102 E. Council St. 85701
(520) 882-8422
Intake: (520) 838-3804
Provide outreach, psychiatric evaluation and medication, medication monitoring, case management, individual and group counseling, and alternative holistic groups for homeless adults with serious mental illness.
TMM Family Services - Women
Admin: 1550 N. Country Club Rd. 85716
(520) 322-9557
Provides Family Journey, a transitional shelter for single women and women with children who are recovering from domestic violence, substance abuse, or mental illness.

Return to top

Seniors

Elder Shelter Project
Admin: 3003 S. Country Club Rd., Suite 215, 85713
(520) 327-2665
Provides short-term emergency shelter placement for adults 60 years and older in crisis.

Return to top

Women with Children

Gospel Rescue Mission
Admin: 326 W. 28th St. 85713
(520) 740-1501
Women's Shelter
1130 W. Miracle Mile 85705
(520) 740-1501
Offers transitional and emergency shelter.
New Beginnings for Women & Children
Admin: 2590 N Alvernon Way 85712
(520) 325-8800
Provides a 90-day family shelter as the first part of a multi-phase program to help families achieve financial self-sufficiency.
Primavera - Greyhound Family Shelter
Admin: 702 S. 6th Av. 85701
(520) 623-5111
Has 17 units available for 90 days for families who have become homeless.
Salvation Army Hospitality House
1021 N. 11th Av. 85705
(520) 622-5411
Provides transitional and emergency shelter and case management for single men and women with and without children.

Return to top

Women without Children

Gospel Rescue Mission
Admin: 326 W. 28th St. 85713
(520) 740-1501
Women’s Shelter
1130 W. Miracle Mile 85705
(520) 740-1501
Offers transitional and emergency shelter for women and children.
Primavera - Casa Paloma Women's Program
Admin: 702 S. 6th Av. 85701
(520) 623-5111
Helps unaccompanied homeless women. The program includes a drop-in center for women only and transitional housing for up to nine women.
Salvation Army Hospitality House
1021 N. 11th Av. 85705
(520) 622-5411
Provides transitional and emergency shelter and case management for single men and women with or without children.

Return to top

Veterans

National Call Center for Homeless Veterans
1-877-4AID VET (1-877-424-3838)
Offers free, 24-Hour access to trained counselors to homeless veterans or veterans at-risk for homelessness.
Southern Arizona VA Health Care System
Admin: 3601 S. 6th St. 85723
(520) 792-1450 or toll free (800) 470-8262
Offers multiple services to veterans.

Return to top

Veterans & Families

Esperanza en Escalante
3700 S. Calle Polar 85730
(520) 571-8294
Offers transitional shelter to homeless veterans and their families.

Veteran’s with Substance Abuse/Mental Illness

Comin’ Home
2480 N. Palo Verde Blvd, Suite 103, 85716
(520) 322-6980
Offers transitional shelter and permanent/supportive housing for veterans with mental illness and substance abuse.

Return to top

Youth

Open Inn Shelter
Admin: 630 E. 9th St. 85705
(520) 628-9590
Louis Street Shelter: 1419 N. Louis Av. (520) 318-9100
Linden Street Shelter: 4751 E. Linden St. (520) 795-1571
For information or to make a referral: (520) 670-9040 or toll-free (866) 520-TEEN.
Provides transitional and emergency shelter for unaccompanied youth.
Our Family Services
Admin: 3830 E. Bellevue St. 85716
(520) 323-1708
Teens in Transition: (520) 323-1708 x243
Provides transitional and emergency shelter for unaccompanied youth and families.
Our Family Street Outreach
(520) 323-1708
24/7 Crisis Line: (800) 537-8696
Meets runaway, homeless, and street-dependent youth where they congregate and helps them come off the streets.
Those Who Care Inc.
3200 N. Los Altos Av. 85705
(520) 292-0270
Wingspan Anti-Violence Project - LGBT
Admin: 425 E. 7th St. 85705
(520) 624-1779
24-Hour Anti-Violence Crisis Line: 520-624-0348 or toll free (800) 553-9387
The Eon "Lounge" drop-in center, located on 7th Street and 4th Avenue, is a safe hangout space for youth 23 and under. (520) 624-1779.
Provides free and confidential 24-Hour crisis intervention, information, support, referrals, emergency shelter, and advocacy to LGBT victim/survivors of violence.
Youth on Their Own
1443 W. Prince Rd. 85705
(520) 293-1136
Supports high school graduation and continued success of homeless youth, ages 13 – 21, by providing financial assistance, basic human needs, and guidance.

Updated May 2010

Return to top