What kind of help do you need?
- Adult education classes
- Affordable housing
- Alternative health & medicine
- Blind / low vision
- Business finance help
- Choosing a career
- Citizenship
- Community Resources for Children
- Consumer information
- Crime victim
- Deaf / hard of hearing
- Debt & credit counseling
- Developmental disabilities
- Disabilities
- Doctors, health care facilities & insurance
- Drug information
- Elder care
- Emergency assistance
- Employment for the disabled
- English classes
- ESOL classes
- Financial aid for school
- Financial help for artists
- Financial help for individuals
- Financial help for writers
- Find a lawyer
- Food, financial assistance
- GED classes
- Grants for individuals
- Health Conditions, Disorders & Diseases
- Home care assistance
- Home Purchase & Affordable Housing
- Home repair
- Homelessness
- Immigration
- Información para inmigrantes (español)
- Job hunting
- Job preparation
- Legal forms
- Literacy Agencies
- Medical bills, financial assistance
- Medical care assistance
- Medical tests & surgery
- Nutrition
- Pets - Pima Animal Care Center
- Preparation for GED
- Rent, financial assistance
- Scholarships
- Utilities, financial assistance
- Veterans
- Visas
Community Focus
Local Guides - Disability Services in the Community
About this list:
- This list is not comprehensive.
- If you have suggestions or feedback on the contents of this page, please fill out our feedback form.
On this page:
General Disability / Special Needs
- Handi-Dogs, Inc.
- Handi-Dogs, Inc. enhances the quality of life for people with physical disabilities and/or hearing impairment by teaching them to train their own dogs to assist them with their daily activities. Contact info: 75 S. Montego Drive, Tucson, AZ 85710, 520-326-3412, 1-866-398-4456, fax 520-319-8186, service@handi-dogs.org, www.handi-dogs.org, 501(c)(3) nonprofit.
- Information and Referral Services of Tucson
- Information line Voice/TDD: 520-881-1794; Outside the Tucson area: 800-362-3474
- This is a comprehensive listing of non-profit and government organizations that offer assistance for concerns affecting individuals and families. Call IRST for referrals on issues concerning independent living, housing alternatives, long-term care services, caregiver support, education and information, volunteer opportunities, and recreational activities.
- Technology Access Center of Tucson (TACT)
- Contact: 520-745-5588, Ext 412
- A clearinghouse of information and exploration about all types of assistive technology, training center, and equipment lending library, TACT is housed in a spacious facility on Tucson's DDD campus.
- Top Dog
- This nonprofit group is dedicated to teaching people with physical disabilities how to train their own dogs to become fully certified service dogs.
- Van Tran of Tucson
- Provides public transportation service to persons qualified under the Americans with Disabilities Act in the metropolitan area of Tucson.
Advocacy, Legal Issues & ADA Compliance
- Arizona Center for Disability Law
- Advocates for the legal rights of persons with disabilities to be free from abuse, neglect and discrimination and to have access to education, health care, jobs, and other services in order to maximize independence and achieve equality.
- Arizona Families On-Line Coalition
- Provides children and adults with disabilities and their families access to each other and reliable information about disabilities, services and supports, within their communities and worldwide via computer technology.
- Arizona Office for Americans with Disabilities
- This state government agency's mission is to guide the State of Arizona in implementing and complying with federal and state disabilities laws. (800) 358-3617
- DIRECT Center for Independence, Inc.
- Voice and TDD: 520-624-6452; Outside the Tucson area: 1-800-342-1853
- Information, referral, training, advocacy, counseling, and many other programs and support services for people with disabilities
- Information and Referral Services of Tucson
- Information line Voice/TDD: 520-881-1794; Outside the Tucson area: 800-362-3474
- This is a comprehensive listing of non-profit and government organizations that offer assistance for concerns affecting individuals and families. Call IRST for referrals on issues concerning independent living, housing alternatives, long-term care services, caregiver support, education and information, volunteer opportunities, and recreational activities.
- Pilot Parents of Southern Arizona
- Support organization for parents of children with special needs. It is one of two designated Parent Training and Information Centers in Arizona.
Blind & Low Vision
- Arizona Council of the Blind
- This nonprofit organization focuses on blindness-related issues, especially on dealing effectively with the challenges of daily living.
- Arizona Deafblind Project
- This is a federally funded free resource providing training, technical assistance, and resources to Arizona families and service providers of individuals with deafblindness.
- Arizona State Library Braille & Talking Books Division
- Contact: 1-800-255-5578
- Provides free services for visually and physically disabled people including the loan of braille and recorded books and magazines, as well as the necessary equipment to play the recorded publications.
- Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
- Non-profit state agency which specializes in the education of children and youth with hearing or vision loss throughout Arizona.
- AZ Newsline: Voice Telephone Newspaper and Job Services
- Contact: 1-800-255-5578
- Newsline delivers today's, yesterday's, and the previous Sunday's issue of selected newspapers via touch-tone phone to the homes and cell phones of those who are eligible to subscribe. Download an application from the web site or call to receive one by mail.
- If you are looking for employment, Jobline is a free public service provided by state agencies with assistance from the NFB and the US Department of Labor. This service is available on the telephone, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. New jobs are listed on the system each day. No application or subscription is necessary. Users dial a toll free long distance number to access Jobline: 1-800-414-5748.
- National Federation of the Blind of Arizona
- Arizona chapter of the National Federation of the Blind. Works to achieve equality, opportunity and security for the blind.
- Southern Arizona Association for the Visually Impaired (SAAVI)
- Contact: 520-795-1331
- Offers a wide range of programs including vocational, and independent living services, aids and appliances, skills training, assistive technology instruction, and social and recreational opportunities.
- Sun Sounds of Arizona
- Sun Sounds of Arizona is an on-air and online radio reading service that provides access to print for individuals who are blind, visually impaired, or physically unable to read. These materials include the daily broadcast of The Arizona Republic, the Wall Street Journal and other local and national newspapers, magazines, catalogs, newsletters, short stories, and the weekly grocery and retail store ads.
Deaf / Hard of Hearing
- Adult Loss of Hearing Association, Arizona, ALOHA!
- Voice: 520-795-9887; TTY: 520-795-9585
- Provides peer support, advocacy, information and training to individuals with hearing loss, enabling them to improve their quality of life. Training includes speech reading, sign language, and computer training. Services focus on such issues as communication, coping skills, and emotional adjustment.
- Arizona Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
- Contact: 1-800-352-8161
- A state agency providing free TTYs and amplified telephones to qualified Arizona residents, administrating the statewide 24-hour telephone relay service, and producing the TV show "Sign Out" which airs on Saturday morning at 6:30 am on KUAT Channel 6 in Tucson. ACDHH also provides information and referral to other state, local, and national agencies for issues dealing with the hearing impaired.
- Arizona Deafblind Project
- This is a federally funded free resource providing training, technical assistance, and resources to Arizona families and service providers of individuals with deafblindness.
- Arizona Relay Service
- Contact: 1-800-352-8161
- A public service provided by the State, making communication by telephone easy, accessible, reliable and convenient for people who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech disabled. Telephone and TDD/TTY users dial 7-1-1 to connect with an AZRS relay operator. Using available computer technology, AZRS users now can dial up a relay operator through the Internet. Check the AZRS web site to find links to free Internet Relay Service Providers.
- Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
- Non-profit state agency which specializes in the education of children and youth with hearing or vision loss throughout Arizona.
- Community Outreach Program for the Deaf (COPD)
- TDD/Voice: 520-792-1906
- COPD is a non-profit community based agency serving Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons since 1973. Services include interpreting, counseling, residential and independent living skills, comprehensive vocational assistance, case management, transition, deaf-blind and rural outreach.
Developmental Disabilities
- Arc of Arizona
- Contact: 1-800-252-9054
- A statewide volunteer organization whose major goal is to help children and adults with mental retardation and other developmental disabilities to choose and realize their goals.
- Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
- Provides services and programs to eligible individuals with developmental disabilities in an integrated community setting.
- Disability Depot
- Pima Council on Developmental Disabilities in cooperation with the Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities designed this web page to make information about development disabilities and support systems available to families, consumers, and the community.
- Technology Access Center of Tucson (TACT)
- Contact: 520-745-5588, Ext 412
- A clearinghouse of information and exploration about all types of assistive technology, training center, and equipment lending library, TACT is housed in a spacious facility on Tucson's DDD campus.
Employment
- Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
- Provides services and programs to eligible individuals with developmental disabilities in an integrated community setting.
- Arizona Rehabilitation Services Administration
- Government agency that works with individuals with disabilities to achieve increased independence and/or gainful employment through the provision of comprehensive rehabilitative and employment support services in a partnership with all stakeholders.
